All posts filed under: Books

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1), Book Review

Every now and again, I come across a book that makes me want to be a better writer. When language paints not just a story, but vivid, moving images in your mind.

Once I started this book, I couldn’t help but be inexplicably drawn into Blue and Gansey’s world. Into a world where magic might be a possibility, where money isn’t always power, where the future is enormously heavy, even if you think you know what’s coming…

Ready Player One, Book Review

A perfect feat of nostalgic charm, fangirl satisfaction and completely engrossing storyline.

This book has stolen my heart. It’s so wonderfully written, and so absolutely, insanely clever. It’s been a really long time since I read a book that struck so many chords in me, brought out so many emotions, and brought out a large amount of huge, no-holds-barred, fangirl grins.

Ketchup Clouds, Book Review 

Once again, I have finished a book and am left with a totally depressing book-hangover and a complete heart smattering over the ending. This novel is sweet, honest and touching, but written so strongly, even if it may not seem so at first, the story draws you in, hook, line, sinker and heart.

Five Books I’m Really Looking Forward to Reading

I have a book addiction. Seriously, I can’t go into a bookstore without buying books, and I go into bookstores a lot. Ergo, I have a lot of books sitting on my shelves at the moment that are still waiting to be read. But they look so pretty, sitting there, waiting. There are well over two dozen books sitting on my To Be Read (TBR) list at the moment, but here are the top five on that list that I can’t wait to read: (Hover over the titles/authors for links to more information) 1. Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick I know very little about this book, and that’s partially why I’m so excited to read it. I suppose, I tend to love any book that tackles the taboo. Such as I loved Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, or even Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult, this book also tackles those ever taboo issues in high school. I haven’t read any other of Matthew Quick’s books, but I saw the film of Silver Linings …

Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda, Book Review

Author: Becky Albertalli Published: April 7th 2015 by Balzer + Bray Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.  #CurrentlyReading – Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. This is also my #bookandglasses post for the #monthofmaybookchallenge #maybookchallenge #bookstagram #bookfetish #read #reading #bookworm #love #imagine #stories #bookgasm #booktastic #books #booknerd #booknerdigans #igreads #bookporn #bibliophile #booklover #instabook #yalit A post shared by Samantha Lee (@samanthaleeauthor) on May 1, 2015 at 4:51pm PDT Honestly, this is one of the cutest, most endearing books I’ve read all year. It’s honest and sweet and genuinely entertaining. At no point did I think ‘I want to put this book down’. Albertalli has created such a …

All the Bright Places, Book Review

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school—six stories above the ground—it’s unclear who saves whom. For fans of The Fault in Our Stars and Eleanor and Park, this is an exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die…