All posts filed under: Reviews

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1), Book Review

Every now and again, I come across a book that makes me want to be a better writer. When language paints not just a story, but vivid, moving images in your mind.

Once I started this book, I couldn’t help but be inexplicably drawn into Blue and Gansey’s world. Into a world where magic might be a possibility, where money isn’t always power, where the future is enormously heavy, even if you think you know what’s coming…

Ready Player One, Book Review

A perfect feat of nostalgic charm, fangirl satisfaction and completely engrossing storyline.

This book has stolen my heart. It’s so wonderfully written, and so absolutely, insanely clever. It’s been a really long time since I read a book that struck so many chords in me, brought out so many emotions, and brought out a large amount of huge, no-holds-barred, fangirl grins.

Ketchup Clouds, Book Review 

Once again, I have finished a book and am left with a totally depressing book-hangover and a complete heart smattering over the ending. This novel is sweet, honest and touching, but written so strongly, even if it may not seem so at first, the story draws you in, hook, line, sinker and heart.

Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda, Book Review

Author: Becky Albertalli Published: April 7th 2015 by Balzer + Bray Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.  #CurrentlyReading – Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. This is also my #bookandglasses post for the #monthofmaybookchallenge #maybookchallenge #bookstagram #bookfetish #read #reading #bookworm #love #imagine #stories #bookgasm #booktastic #books #booknerd #booknerdigans #igreads #bookporn #bibliophile #booklover #instabook #yalit A post shared by Samantha Lee (@felixturtle_reads) on May 1, 2015 at 4:51pm PDT Honestly, this is one of the cutest, most endearing books I’ve read all year. It’s honest and sweet and genuinely entertaining. At no point did I think ‘I want to put this book down’. Albertalli has created such a …

All the Bright Places, Book Review

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school—six stories above the ground—it’s unclear who saves whom. For fans of The Fault in Our Stars and Eleanor and Park, this is an exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die…

We’re All Going to Die (Especially Me), Book Review

Author: Joel Meares  Published: March 25th 2015 by Black Inc. My late twenties have felt like a series of slow-motion epiphanies, each one sneaking up before slapping me in my newly acquired jowls. Everything I said I’d do ‘by the time I’m thirty’ as a glassy-eyed graduate is now in the ‘by the time I’m forty’ box. I have to admit, it is a completely surreal feeling, reading a book set in the place where you grew up. Particularly when that place has never really been the centre of anything, besides a local newspaper article about realty every now and again. But this book is set where I grew up. And it’s written by someone I grew up knowing. And it’s awesome Now I’m not plugging this book simply because I somewhat know the author, I am plugging this book because it’s smart, witty, humorous and very entertaining (all at the authors expense of course, but entertaining nonetheless). More of a series of essays rather than an actual story, We’re All Going to Die (Especially Me) …